Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Characters You Just Didn’t Click With

Happy September every one! How the time flies still astounds me.

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Ten Characters you just didn’t click with.

Untitled-2I’m usually a person who connects with most characters in a book, especially main characters. Side characters sure, but there are a few exceptions to this, and they are:

Ava Lavender from The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslie Walton

I didn’t really particularly connect to Ava as a character. It might have been due to the fact that by the time she was introduced, it was well past halfway through the book and by that point, I’d already wanted to put the book down.

Eureka from Teardrop by Lauren Kate

Very typical character. Could not relate to her at all, because I just didn’t have anything in common with her.

Lincoln from Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

He’s a 30 something old guy who still hasn’t gotten his act together, combined with the fact I find him quite annoying. I still haven’t finished reading this book, but maybe when I do end up finishing this book I might like him better.

Seth from the Covenant Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Seth is one of the love interests in this book, and the fact he keeps popping up out of nowhere makes him really frustrating to read and relate to.

Charlie from Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

To be honest, I read Perks a long time ago, and I don’t remember that much, but I do remember just zoning out throughout the whole book because I couldn’t relate to the character.

Jesse Alderman from Sway by Kat Spears

American high school. Drug issues. I’m out.

Daire Santos from The Soul Seekers by Alyson Noel

Daire is a stereotypical character who always seems to get her way, despite the events that are occuring. It just seems unrealistic that the things always seemed to be in her favour.

Raffe from Angelfall by Susan Ee

After having Angelfall on my shelf I finally read it. And I had been avoiding it because it seemed like a very typical fantasy. But it took me surprise. That being said, I enjoyed reading about Rafe, but I couldn’t relate to him as a character.

Eadlyn Schreave from The Selection (Well, technically The Heir) by Keira Cass

Arrogant. Rude, when she is being “queenly”. Maybe Keira Cass is attempting to make Eadlyn redeemable by the time the next book comes out, but for the most part, I did not enjoy reading about her character.

Arin from The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkosi

As much as I loved the books, Arin was not someone who I could relate to. He’s moody, and not at all talkative. In the second book, I was actually becoming annoyed at his character because of the ways he tries to redeem himself.

So do you have any of these characters in your list? Comment down below if you did!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Characters You Just Didn’t Click With

    • I think if you liked Fallen, you might enjoy Teardrop. I actually have a review of it being posted in a few days so stay tuned for that! My review is also on my goodreads (which you can find in my header – it’s the dot). Tbh, I think fallen is better than Teardrop, and I wouldn’t recommend it. That doesn’t mean you shouldn’t give it a shot though :)

      Like

      • Oh sweet, I’ll make sure to look out for your review! I think I’m going to give it a shot eventually. Probably one of those times when I’m at the library and I see it and look down to that I’ve already picked out 5 books and think “One more won’t hurt.” This exact situation has happened too many times xD

        Like

Leave a Reply

