Review: Teardrop by Lauren Kate

16070143

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Release Date: October 22nd, 2013
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9780375990694
Pages: 441
Goodreads || Book Depository

Never, ever cry…

Seventeen-year-old Eureka won’t let anyone close enough to feel her pain. After her mother was killed in a freak accident, the things she used to love hold no meaning. She wants to escape, but one thing holds her back: Ander, the boy who is everywhere she goes, whose turquoise eyes are like the ocean. And then Eureka uncovers an ancient tale of romance and heartbreak, about a girl who cried an entire continent into the sea. Suddenly her mother’s death and Ander’s appearance seem connected, and her life takes on dark undercurrents that don’t make sense. Can everything you love be washed away?

This book was a very generic story. The beginning was extremely slow. After the prologue, nothing happens until 200 pages in… It actually took me a lot longer to read than I would’ve liked, but I didn’t particularly enjoy this book so I’m not surprised. There were times when I just wanted to put the book down because it was incredibly cheesy, but I kept reading mostly because I wanted to find out what happened.

Eureka’s character was extremely moody and really hard to relate to. Eureka’s name reminds me of the gold rush in the 1850s, and the Eureka Stockade happened. Her character was extremely underdeveloped. The prologue is written from Ander, and my first impressions of him was that he had serious stalker issues.

‘He has been watching her since before he or she could speak. They have never spoke.
She was his life.
He had to kill her.’

However, I actually liked the side characters, especially Cat. Cat is fun, energetic and the kind of girl you want to have as a best friend.

I’ve read her Fallen series (years ago, now), and from what I remember, there are similarities between Fallen and Teardrop – one being that they’re both extremely slow. I actually think Fallen was much better than Teardrop because there is actually some action. In Teardrop, the first bit of action is literally 200 pages in, and at that point, I was ready to throw the book down and pick up something else. This book has around 400 pages, and it’s only halfway that something happens. And there’s no big buildup to a climatic ending.

The romance was incredibly unrealistic. Brooks (our other guy/love interest) is Eureka’s best friend since they were young. *slight spoiler* Brooks and Eureka have a fight, don’t talk for days, then start making out. To me, that’s incredibly cliché, and difficult to believe.

The overall plot was predictable, and generic. Most of the stuff that happens I managed to predict before it happened, and that made me lose the element of surprise and anticipation. I think it could’ve been

I didn’t like the book, mostly because it was slow-paced, and because the ideas within the story were very generic.

Rating: 2.5/5

Leave a Reply

