Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Bookish Habits I Want to Quit

So it’s that time of the week again where I pick ten bookish things to talk about! Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish and this week’s topic (as you can tell from the title of this post) is ten bookish habits I want to quit!


One

One thing I tend to do when I walk into physical bookstores is to browse the shelves and judging every book by it’s cover before picking it up. Of course, the aesthetic value is important with every first impression of books (and anything else, really), but I want to stop doing this because some books are brilliant but have rather unappealing covers.

Two

Another thing I tend to do when I’m book shopping is that I always impulsively buy books. If it’s been a book I’ve had my eyes on for a long time, I’ll probably get it. If it’s a book that I’ve read and loved, but don’t actually have a copy of it, the I’ll probably buy the entire series in one go. I’ve gotten a lot better at this recently. But it’s still frustrating when I buy a book and then realise I could’ve gotten it for cheaper online.

Three

When it’s impossible for me to visit a bookstore, I like to spend my time browsing the internet, more specifically on bookish sites instead of doing what I’m supposed to be doing. This is a massive problem, not so much on goodreads but book shopping sites (like Book Depository) because I stare at my laptop screen for hours on end, gazing longingly at a certain book I want to buy, but I restrain myself. It’s much harder when all you have to do is click a few buttons.

Four

I probably spend the majority of my downtime either reading, or browsing the internet. The problem with the latter, is that I spend way too much time stalking looking at people’s blogs and booktubes, and before I know it, it’s been an entire day. A good solid fourteen hours I could’ve spent being productive but I didn’t. #theshameandregret

Five

When I see somebody raving about a certain book, and I read it and the summary sounds promising, I’ll add it to my goodreads to-read list. My list is growing exponentially, and although it’s not as bad as some other people’s, there’s seriously no way I’ll get to all of them. The problem is, the list just keeps getting longer and longer…

Six

As my TBR pile grows larger, there are some books from years ago on both my shelf and my TBR list on goodreads that I will probably never read for various reasons. This relates back to the second point where I buy books impulsively because I like the cover or the fact they’re cheap. Well I guess it’s not a big deal on goodreads…

Seven

Whenever I’m reading a physical copy of a book, I tend to grab the closest thing that I can use as a bookmark (usually a pen or ruler). I actually own a bunch of bookmark – some bought, some given and some handmade (by yours truly) but I can’t bear to use them for the fear of losing them. What if they slip out of my book if I’m travelling with my book? The fear of losing where I am when I’m in the middle of reading is real.

Eight

I am actually not the kind of person who flips the book to the end to read the ending before I read the book, because I love being surprised by the ending of a book. However, particularly when I’m reading a boring or slow book, I’ll flip forward the next few pages to see where the new chapter begins. Another thing I’ll do is check how many pages there are in the whole book, and this way, I’ll may get an accidental glimpse of the ending (which actually doesn’t happen, surprisingly!).

Nine

I like to keep all the books I have purchased in the past. I still own picture books (you know, Possum Magic was brilliant) from my childhood days. There are books that I was obsessed with when I was around 7-10 that I still have on my shelf to this day, and I can’t bear to un-haul them. It’s my sentimentality. I’ll blame that.

Ten

In addition to keeping books from my childhood,  I have bought books I know I will never read yet I can’t bear to give them away. It’s the thought of me going “I might be in the mood to read that one day, who knows?” although deep down, I know I won’t. Yet I can’t bring myself to give them away.


So that’s my ten bookish habits that I want to quit! Do you do any of these things? Let me down below.

–Katrina

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Bookish Habits I Want to Quit

Leave a Reply

