Review: Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

24120519Library of Souls is the third book in the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children series. I highly recommend you read the first two books, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and Hollow City first, as you will be spoiled. I have reviews for the first and second book, so also check those out before reading this.

Publisher: Quirk Books
Release Date: September 22nd, 2015
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781594748400
Pages: 458

Goodreads | Book Depository

The adventures that began with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and continued with Hollow City comes to a thrilling conclusion with Library of Souls.

As the story opens, sixteen-year-old Jacob discovers a powerful new ability, and soon he’s diving through history to rescue his peculiar companions from a heavily guarded fortress. Accompanying Jacob on his journey are Emma Bloom, a girl with fire at her fingertips, and Addison MacHenry, a dog with a nose for sniffing out lost children.

They’ll travel from modern-day London to the labyrinthine alleys of Devil’s Acre, the most wretched slum in all of Victorian England. It’s a place where the fate of peculiar children everywhere will be decided once and for all.

Like its predecessors, Library of Souls blends thrilling fantasy with never-before-published vintage photography.


So Library of Souls was a brilliant conclusion to this trilogy. I thought it was a very satisfying ending to the series. It tied up all the loose ends of the series really well, and also was extremely enjoyable to read.

The continuity of the series is something I really liked. Most sequels in a series take place several days to a weeks after the previous novel. However, Library of Souls picks up where Hollow City left off (which was a relief because Hollow City ended on a massive cliffhanger). I thought this was really refreshing from other series I’ve read recently, because the flow between the books were very smooth. I read this almost immediately after Hollow City, so I didn’t really have a problem with forgetting anything that happened in the series, but if it’s been a while since you read the last book, wiki has a good summary of what happens.

Again, the vintage photos that are used in this book were seamlessly integrated throughout, but I felt like in some instances it wasn’t really necessary. The imagery that Riggs’ uses in his writing is quite vivid, and the pictures accentuate what I envisioned (and also makes great material for discoveries!).

In the first book, I was weirded out slightly by Jacob and Emma’s relationship, but by this book, I had come to terms with it and it was actually really cute. I like how the plot isn’t romance driven either – Jacob and Emma are a great team, but Jacob is just as capable when he is on his own. Jacob undergoes a lot of character development throughout this third book. Seeing him grow through his decisions, and his struggles which makes him seem more realistic. His new found ability to speak “hollowspeak” reminds me of Parseltongue from Harry Potter, but a lot of his character development is centred around embracing and being confident about his abilites, which is an important message Riggs is delivering.

I would’ve liked to see some more of the side characters, but some did get more page time in this book. Addison definitely had a lot more page time and an important role in this book. We were also introduced to some other characters like Sharon and Mother Dust who are hilarious and relieve tension during some of the serious moments.

“Good bird man, you scared us half to death!” said Addison. “Was all that bluster and cackling really necessary?”

“My apologies. I was napping and you startled me.”

“We startled you?”

I’ve become attached to many of these characters, it’ll be difficult to let go of them.

Story wise, there was always something going on in this book – there was not a single moment where I wanted to put the book down because the plot was quite intense. The plot itself was well-executed and it was paced really well. I could not have asked for a better conclusion to this trilogy, and I think Riggs did an amazing job at wrapping all the loose ends up, and writing a satisfactory ending.

Overall, I thought this was a fantastic conclusion to this trilogy. I really loved everything about this book and series, and it’s something I’ll be recommending to everyone I talk to now (not that I wasn’t before!).

Rating: ★★★★.5

Leave a Reply

