The Inconvenience of Creativity

ioc

Creativity:
[kree-ey-tiv-i-tee, kree-uh-]
noun
1. the state or quality of being creative.
2. the ability to transcend traditional ideas, rules, patterns, relationships, or the like, and to create meaningful new ideas, forms, methods, interpretations, etc.; originality, progressiveness, or imagination:
the need for creativity in modern industry; creativity in the performing arts.
3. the process by which one utilizes creative ability:
Extensive reading stimulated his creativity.

(Definition taken from dictionary.com)


Being creative is a thing that can either be a blessing or a curse. On one hand, it allows you to create original content that either turns out really well or just doesn’t work out at all. On the other hand, inspiration for creative projects can come when you don’t need them.

You see, being inspired is a great thing. You become extremely motivated to work on this idea of yours, and you don’t stop until you’re satisfied. The creation process is spontaneous, unpredictable. It’s impossible to know what the final product will be until you’re done. However, these ideas come when you least expect it. It can be during the early hours of the morning, or when you’re taking a shower.

I’ve had many ideas floating around in my mind for the past few weeks that I really want to work on. Most of these are creative projects that I just don’t get time to do during the school term, and when I do get time to work on them, I’ve lost motivation. I’ve actually got a music composition I’m supposed to be working on, but the way I want to express myself is unfortunately not through Sibelius 7. Art is great because it comes in so many different forms, and I’m quite fortunate to be sufficient in a few of them. Right now, I really want to either choreograph a dance, or make videos on YouTube. Both require the time I unfortunately don’t have at the moment (but let’s face it I’m only writing this as a form of procrastination).

Currently, life’s been hectic because I’ve been studying for exams, and lost in the world that is the school education system and the final year of high school. Exams are next week, so after that, I will have more time and freedom to do the things I want to do. Summer is approaching, and there are places I want to visit, people I want to catch up with, and projects I want to work on. Some of these things are creative projects I’ve wanted to work on for so long now, but I’m physically restraining myself from doing so until the time is appropriate.

So tl;dr I guess that creativity is inconvenient because when you want to create something, you don’t have time but when you do have the time, you don’t have the motivation. Unless you force yourself too.


 

Anyway, what are your thoughts on inspirational ideas coming to you at the most inconvenient moments? Let me know down below :)

–Katrina

 

 

Leave a Reply

