Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Reads of 2015

top ten tuesday sigTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by the wonderful Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is the top ten reads in 2015!


 

Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas

I honestly don’t think this would be a top ten list if I didn’t mention Throne of Glass! This book is just filled with amazing writing, characterisation and plot that is thrilling and exciting. I don’t know what I’d do with my life in two years time when this series is over.

The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simmons

83144

I brought this on a road-trip earlier this year, and it was one of the best decisions because I managed to finish this beast in about 4 days. There was so much involved in this book and it was very moving. If you haven’t picked this up before, you should because it’s worth it.

Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

16429619

Kiss of Deception is just one of those books that you have to read. I loved it so much because it was rather unique fantasy, and had really good writing.

The Fill-in Boyfriend by Kasie West

18660447

I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed reading this book. It did take me a while to get into this book, but once I did, I couldn’t stop. It’s light and fluffy, and it’s perfect for reading when you’re in a bad mood, too.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Trilogy by Ransom Riggs

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children, #1)

Miss Peregrine’s is definitely a stand-out, just because of the way the books were written. The fact that the stories are shaped around flea-market photos in itself is such a unique concept.

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)

Cinder is one of the Sci-Fi stories that I really enjoyed this year. There are so many characters I’ve fallen in love with, and I’m sad that its over! In saying that, this book is actually amazing, especially the plot.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

An Ember in the Ashes (An Ember in the Ashes, #1)

This book is a brilliant hybrid of fantasy/historical. It’s inspired by Ancient Roman elements in a militaristic society, and there’s also great characters.

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys 

7824322

Between Shades of Gray is a recent read, but it’s honestly one of the best. The writing is amazing, and I especially love the setting that it takes place in. It’s heartwarming and heartshattering, I guarantee you.

The Selection Trilogy by Kiera Cass

10507293

As trashy as this series is, these books are still an extremely enjoyable read. You basically get the bachelor in book form – I mean, who wouldn’t want to read that? (Okay, maybe quite a lot of people wouldn’t read this, and let’s pretend the Heir doesn’t exist).

 

Shadow Study by Maria V. Snyder

23849140

Maria V. Snyder is one of my favourite authors of all time, and this book did not disappoint at all. Except maybe the cliffhanger at the end a bit…

Honourable Mention:

Born to Endless Night by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan 

23381012

I’m cheating because this is a novella/short-story, but the amount of feels this gave me was rather overwhelming. You get domestic Lightwoods, which you don’t get to see very often in the Mortal Instruments series, and it’s just so heartwarming.


 

So that’s a wrap! Let me know down in the comments which ones you’ve read and enjoyed this year :)

 

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Reads of 2015

  1. Haha, I REALLY didn’t like Throne of Glass for various reasons, but I’m so glad you included An Ember in the Ashes! That’s on my priority TBR list. :) And your mention of Shadow Study just reminds me that I have to catch up with the series… I’ve only read up to the second book.

    Here’s my TTT.

    Like

  2. Haha I’m just looking through your list and nodding and thinking “yes, yes, yes” to everything! I really need to start reading Poison Study! It’s the one that keeps popping up on my wishlist but I can never find it in store when I want to buy it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

