Top Ten Tuesday: Historical Settings

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Today’s topic is actually one that I’m really excited about, and it’s top ten Historical Settings that you love! If you’ve been following me for a while, you’ll know I’m a history nerd (as proven by Crown’s Game post from last week), and so it should be no surprise that I love talking and reading about history!

I actually realised that most of the historical fiction I read is some kind of WWII historical fiction, specifically Germany. Anyway, here are ten eras in history that I like to read about! In chronological order:


Ancient Rome

Although I haven’t read many books set in the premises of Ancient Rome, there have been quite a few fantasy series based on this period of history. Books like The Ember in the Ashes as well as The Winner’s Curse are fantasy series based on Ancient Rome.

French Revolution

I haven’t read many books based on the French Revolution, but I have watched Les Miserables, both the 2012 movie and musical. I love both of them, and this has definitely made me want to learn more about the French Revolution.

Victorian England

The Victorian period is interesting to read about, because it’s roughly the time where Britain is having their industrial revolution, which means people are moving to the cities from the countryside. More importantly, it’s where the Infernal Devices series is set in history.

Imperial China (up until 1908)

I actually enjoy reading about Imperial China for some reason. I really enjoyed the Dragonkeeper series back in the day, and I also adored Chinese Cinderella (even though that’s more modern).

Tsarist Russia

Up until 1917, Russia was ruled by a monarchy under Tsar Nicholas II. There are rumours that Anastasia survived when the rest of her family was executed by the Bolsheviks, and I’ve read/watched my fair share of books and documentaries exploring this theory.

1920s America

Also known as the ‘Jazz Age’. While we’re taught about the Roaring Twenties in Australia, it’s nowhere as interesting as it is in America.

Stalinist Russia Soviet Union

While I think that living during Stalin’s Rule is terrible, I think it would be interesting. I’ve read both The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simmons, and Between Shades of Grey by Ruta Sepetys which are both set during this time, but they both explore different aspects of society back then.

Germany in WWII

Basically every historical fiction book I is set during the Holocaust/WWII in Germany. Occasionally it’s Poland or Austria, but both of those countries were annexed by the Nazis so it doesn’t really count. Highlights include The Book Thief and Number the Stars by Lois Lowry.

Cold War

The Cold War period is an interesting period, because there was so much fear and tension between everyone. It’s also interesting to dive into the mindset of anyone living in the Cold War, and what they were experiencing.

Any Contemporary Setting

The age we live in today is probably the one we resonate with the most. It’s a period of history where everything is rapidly evolving and where capitalism is an important aspect of first-world countries. Although there’s still so many issues with the world, it’s still better than any other period of history. How did people ever live without Internet?


That’s just some of the periods of history in which I find fascinating. What are some of yours? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

blog sig

 

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Historical Settings

  1. I am definitely a huge fan of Tsarist Russia and Ancient Rome especially, and I am always looking for more books set in these time periods! (I also love fantasy novels based on ancient rome: an ember in the ashes was a particular favorite from last year!) great list :)
    here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I seem to end up reading about Victorian London a lot, though I don’t really choose it on purpose lol. I’ve always been fascinated by the 1920s/Prohibition Era America though! Except I think I’ve only read one book set there :-/ (I think that’s when Water for Elephants was set? I remember them going to a speakeasy.) If I could find some historical fantasy set in that time, I would snatch it up so fast!

    Like

Leave a Reply

