Top Ten Tuesday: Music as Books

resized

Top ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish feature that is hosted by the folks over at The Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme evolves around the combination of two of my favourite things ever – books and music.

For this week, I decided to talk about some songs that I think would make a really good novel. Just a note in advance; I have quite a diverse taste in music, so hopefully there’s something for everyone!


The Lucky One – Taylor Swift

This song in my opinion is one of the most underrated from her Red album that has a really great storyline.

All Too Well – Taylor Swift

Another song off the Red album which deserves a mention. The lyrics in itself are a masterpiece, and I’ve actually seen someone on tumblr write a story based on this song a while back.

Origins – Adrian Von Ziegler

What drew me in was the cute melody at the beginning. This song really does build, and every time I listen to this song, I can just imagine faeries or pixies dancing around, before becoming some kind of ritual. I don’t know what story would entail such things, but I think it would be an interesting piece to write a story to.

Death and the Soldier – Ian Munro

(Click the title for the audio)

A very recent discovery of mine. I think it’s such an interesting piece that deserves a mention, even though it is something I’m analysing for music at school. Although I’m sort of cheating because it’s based off a Russian fairytale with the same name, I think it evokes quite a powerful story.

Left Right Left – Charlie Puth

I think this song would make a really great, fluffy contemporary novel. It’s fun, it’s upbeat yet it’s also just a really chill song.

In the End – Linkin Park

Another song that evokes a really strong emotional moment. Although I think this is more of a single moment within a book, I’d really love to see this incorporated somehow.

Bring Me To Life – Evanescence

Like the previous song, I think this would be suited to a single moment in a story rather than a whole novel, but it still has really powerful lyrics and instrumentation.

Stitches – Shawn Mendes

I love this song! It’s also another upbeat anthem, but the lyrics in itself holds potential for a cute, contemporary novel (or at least parts of it).

Shostakovich – Piano Trio No. 2 in E minor: IV Allegretto

This is the fourth movement in Shostakovich’s 2nd piano trio, and it’s probably the best one. It’s very reminiscent of Stalinist Russia, and it really does build up in the climax towards the end.

Last Kiss – Taylor Swift

One of my favourites from her Speak Now album – in terms of storytelling, this is another favourite of mine, but if I could, I would probably include all her songs from all her albums.


So there’s some songs I think would make or inspire great novels. It should also be no surprise that I’m a Taylor Swift fan.

What are your some of your opinions? Let me know in the comments below!

blog sig

 

 

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Music as Books

Leave a Reply

