A Fresh [inter]Face

Hey guys! I’m sure if you’ve clicked on this post you would’ve noticed that I have changed my theme!

I’ve always been a been a picky person when it comes to blogs and themes. As an avid tumblr using free wordpress, I get really frustrated at the limitations of wordpress themes and the customisation of them. There’s a massive handicap that really gets to me, especially since I’m so used to tumblr where you can just edit free user made themes to your heart’s content.

Anyway.

Themes are an important factor in any website. The layout and the overall aesthetic must be nice to look at. It’s always nice to have good quality content on a nice looking page. This also applies for anything physical – any notebook which has multi-coloured notes will always be easier to look at as opposed to plain, black notes. For me, at least, it’s a deciding factor on how much I enjoy a blog post, or even browsing someone else’s blog.

I’ve had my previous theme since I started this blog, back in July. While I did love it at the time, I got bored of having the same theme.In the seven months that this blog has been live, my personal tastes have changed, too. I’ve started preferring a more minimalistic, white layout, and my old header was starting to look a little tacky. There were things I wanted to add to my sidebar such as a Goodreads icon (which is pretty much non-existent in most blog presets), but I couldn’t alter the html code.

The turning point, at which I was thinking “I desperately need a new theme!” was when I made myself a fancy new header. My old layout wouldn’t let me display the header the way I wanted it to without a lot of fuss, and after many weeks of internally complaining to myself, I finally got around to finding a new theme that would let me display this header! Granted, I’ve made a few tweaks to make it work, but the most important thing is that I’m satisfied. At least for now.

Don’t get me wrong, there are little things that really bug me with this theme too, like the social links not including enough icons and having to create my own menu (without icons) instead. There’s no doubt that in the future, I will tire of this theme and search for a new one, but for now, I’m quite happy with how it looks.

A theme is a representation of personal aesthetics, and it can also tell a lot about someone’s personality without any words. Everything from the colour to the layout tells us about the colour schemes a person likes, or what they prefer when they are looking at someone else’s blog. I’m sure this isn’t always the case, especially with the limitations of free WordPress. Despite this, there are ways around to displaying your personal aesthetic without seemingly being a copycat of someone else’s theme.

Although I keep bringing up free wordpress and how frustratingly limited it is, I won’t be leaving anytime soon, don’t you worry. Although I love tumblr when it comes to layouts and themes, the Book Blogging community on WordPress is pretty amazing, and I’m grateful to you all for taking the time to read my rambles.

My tumblr which I’ve kept bringing up can be found in the sidebar, or alternatively, you can check it out here.

What do you think of my new theme? Let me know what you think down below!

blog sig

 

Leave a Reply

