Top Ten Tuesday: Childhood Characters I’d Like to Revisit

resized

Hey guys! It’s that time of the week, where everyone’s just getting back into the working week; yes it’s Top Ten Tuesday! Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme that is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish, like always. This week’s theme is quite a nostalgic one, based on characters I’d like to revisit from my childhood!

I was the type of person that once I read a book I loved, I would just re-read that one book about fifty times. If it was a part of a series, I would re-read all the books in the entire series about fifty times as well (okay that’s a bit of an exaggeration).


Lucy from Narnia by C.S Lewis

I remember reading Narnia when I was eight, but I only really have a vivid recollection of the books that were adapted into movies, and none of the others. I never finished the series, and I really want to revisit these soon. I actually read The Magician’s Nephew back in January, but I haven’t picked up any of the others since.

Jasmine from Deltora Quest by Emily Rodda

Deltora Quest is a series I was abosolutely obsessed with when I was younger, and I feel like I’d enjoy her character more now that I’m older.

I also found out that they made an anime adaptation I need to see this

Mimi from The Key to Rondo by Emily Rodda

2272641

I remember reading this book, and while I have a strong impression of the main character Leo, I don’t really have much of an impression of the other protagonist. I did love this though, because I thought it was such a unique story (at the time).

Anya from Angel Cake by Cathy Cassidy

This was one of the Cathy Cassidy books I actually enjoyed (I wasn’t a big fan of the others) and I loved this to bits. I’d love to revisit Anya (and all the other characters) because it would be interesting to read this book from an older perspective.

The Wicked Witch from Narnia by C.S. Lewis

This may seem totally random, but I genuinely want to read about the Wicked Witch, because after reading the Magician’s Nephew, she seems like an intriguing character that I didn’t really understand when I was younger.

Ping from Dragonkeeper by Carole Wilkinson

Dragonkeeper.jpg

This series is a series I adore so much, and I loved all the characters, and historical context in it. Additionally, there’s information about Ping’s background I probably didn’t appreciate as much when I was reading this, so this is something I’d like to go back to at some point.

Adeline from Chinese Cinderella by Adeline Yen Mah

Chinese Cinderella.jpg

Although this is a biography of sorts, I loved reading this as a kid, because it was so interesting and different to what I experienced as a person growing up in the Western World, and although there are probably many books that are similar, this book is something I treasure from my childhood.

Isla from Flyaway by Lucy Christopher

I honestly don’t remember much from this book, but I do have a really good impression of the main character Isla. I think that’s enough of a reason to revisit this, to be honest.

Jessie from the Fairy Realm Series by Emily Rodda

1105380

As you can probably tell, I was a huge Emily Rodda fan when I was younger, and this series is no exception from the others. Although this is a very different book to the Deltora Quest series, I still loved them.

David from The Last Dragon Chronicles by Chris d’Lacey

312043

I just remember that this was a really cool world, and there were dragons, ice and lots of snow. So yeah,

Septimus Heap from Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage

769483

This was marketed as an ‘alternative Harry Potter’ kind of thing, but I remember that there was really good humour in this series, in addition to a different fantasy magic world (it was more high fantasy and less castles). I never read the last book because by the time it was released, it’d been years since I read the previous book, so I would love to see how this series ends.


So much nostalgia in one post! As you can probably tell from my selection of books, I was an avid fantasy reader from the beginning, and also a massive Emily Rodda fan!

What are some characters would you like to revisit! I’d love to know!

blog sig

 

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Childhood Characters I’d Like to Revisit

  1. I loved this weeks topic, there are so many characters I would love to revisit. You have picked some great ones, although a few of these are from books I still need to read. I’d love to revisit all the characters of Narnia, I’d love to catch up with each and everyone of them <3 You can check out my list here.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

