Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Picked Up on a Whim

top ten tuesday sig

Hello everyone! It’s Top Ten Tuesday, which is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish as usual. Today’s topic concerns books I picked up on a whim!

I pick up a lot of books on a whim; most of the time, I’ll pick them out based on their spine or cover. Does anyone else do that?

Anyway, here’s some books I picked up on a whim! Some of these I have read, and some I own but haven’t read yet, but here goes:


Sway by Kat Spears

19286535

I picked this up because it was a hardcover, and I honestly don’t see many hardcover books here in stores in Australia. Any hardcover book is a deciding factor as to whether or not I end up purchasing it, to be honest.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl

I actually saw this back when it was released and had  to get it because of the title. I’m such a massive fangirl over so many things, so naturally I would have to get this. I really relate to this book in so many different ways, and I’m so glad I did pick this up!

Dance of Shadows by Yelena Black

Dance of Shadows (Dance of Shadows, #1)

I actually saw this in my school library, and it looked interesting so I decided to give it a go. Also, my friend recommended it to me, but that was after I first saw it so this counts.

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

16069030

I picked this up when my local bookstore was doing two books for $20 promotion, so I got this and Throne of Glass. Probably some of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

18166936

Again, I was attracted to this book because of the hardcover. The dust jacket itself is so pretty, with its lavender background and gold emboss. It’s a shame this book wasn’t really for me – others have rated it very highly, but in my humble opinion, I didn’t really connect to it much.

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

17185496

I picked this up purely because it looked interesting. It’s been sitting on my shelf for about a year now, waiting to be read.

The Little Paris Bookshop by Nina George

25232097

This is something I only bought recently, but I’ve been wanting to get it since it first came out, because it sounded so cute and I also loved the cover. I also like the fact that it’s set in Paris.  I may or may not get to it any time soon…

The Midnight Watch by David Dyer

25666052

This is one example of a book I picked up on a whim because of its cover and plot. I loved the idea of a Titanic story, in addition to the gorgeous shimmery midnight blue of the cover.

The Butterfly and the Violin by Kirsty Cambron

The Butterfly and the Violin (Hidden Masterpiece, #1)

This is definitely something I just got because of the title and the plot. All I know is that it’s a WWII historical fiction novel that involves music somehow, and that’s enough for me.

Emperor of the Eight Islands by Liam Hearn

28097363

I saw this at costco and what caught my eye was the minimalist white design and the fact it’s set in Japan. I really want to learn a little more Japanese history, so I think this was an appropriate find.

That’s it for today! What are some books you picked up on a whim? Let me know!

blog sig

 

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Picked Up on a Whim

  1. I 100% pick books up before of how they look! I’m really curious to see what you think of Midnight Watch (unless you’ve already read it?) because I’ve got my eye on it – it has me intrigued! And omg, Fangirl <3

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I just started reading Rainbow Rowell recently. Hoping to get to Fangirl soon. Kindred Spirits had a little fangirling too. Haha.

    I saw The Little Paris Bookshop at my local bookstore today. Almost picked it up for the same reasons as you. Didn’t end up getting it though, because I hadn’t plan on buying any books and was just browsing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Little Paris Book Shop is one I picked up at the library because the cover was adorable. I ended up loving it so that was good but it took a little bit for me to get into it. Great List!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I found “The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly” to be pretty disturbing, but a good read all together. I’ve been seeing “Fangirl” around a lot lately, not just in the blogosphere but in general. It stands out at bookstores or at the library and I’ve even seen people reading it just out and about. I wonder if that’s a sign…

    Great list, hope you enjoy the books you haven’t gotten to yet!

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

