Book Haul | May 2016

book haul

Hello everyone! Today I have my (belated) May Book Haul that I’ve been putting off for the past couple of days. I’ve been waiting for a nice sunny day where I could get nice lighting, but unfortunately, the start of June has just been a rainy, miserable week!


I acquired a total of nine books in May (two of technically I got at the end of April but I didn’t include in my April book haul). I said in my last haul that I wouldn’t buy many more, but I couldn’t help it — with so many of my anticipated releases coming out this month, this is the result. I swear June won’t be as bad because I’ve gotten to the point where I don’t really want to buy any more books for the time being, so hopefully that lasts a little while longer.

Even though it’s been wet and gloomy outside, I had fun taking these photos! It also feature some cameos of my soft toy collection so I hope you like them!



Humans of New York Stories by Brandon Stanton

One of the afore mentioned that I got at the end of April, but didn’t include. I love following the HONY page on Facebook, and all the stories they feature, so I thought it’d be nice to have it in a physical form with coloured photos. 

The Butterfly and the Violin by Kirsty Cambron

A book I’ve been eye for ages, but only recently purchased. I’ve skimmed the first couple of pages and it sounds really interesting so far!


The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Helbig

I actually won this in a Facebook giveaway, my first time winning one of these, so thank you Allen and Urwin! I’m pretty keen on this book, and I can’t wait!

The Crown by Kiera Cass

A book I’ve been waiting for since last year. I didn’t initially like the purple of the cover, but honestly, it’s grown on me. If only I could say the same thing about what I thought of it.

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

This is definitely the book I was excited most about in May! I still haven’t gotten around to reading it because of school exams but I need to get to it very soon. Spoilers have already been appearing on my tumblr dash, which is definitely an indication of how behind I am.


The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

Another book I’ve been waiting for since last year! Although in my mind, it didn’t live up to the hype/vision I had in my hear, it was still a really good read.

Srsly Hamlet by Courtney Carbone

I’m currently studying Hamlet for school, so I thought it’d be appropriate to get this. I joked about how I would be using this to write my essay on Twitter:

But looking forward to this!


The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

I’ve been raving about how excited I am for this book to come out since last year, and it’s finally here! I was lucky enough to participate in the blog tour promoting this book back in January. Initially, I was going to get the paperback once it was released in Australia, but then I saw how pretty the hardcover was without the dust jacket and so I splurged on the hardcover! Definitely worth it.

Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

I actually read this book last year, but I never actually owned a copy, so I finally got my hands on the hardcover! Buying it makes me want to re-read it again; I probably will, before the last book is released in July, to refresh my memory. Again, it was definitely worth the amount I spent on it!


So may was quite a big month for book buying for me! Things should slow down in the next 2-3 months, although let’s be real – they probably won’t.

Also, let me know if you liked these photos! If you did, I may include some more of my soft toy collection in my next haul!

blog sig

 

One thought on “Book Haul | May 2016

Leave a Reply

