Top Ten Tuesday: Most Enjoyable 2016 Releases

top ten tuesday sig

Hello! Top Ten Tuesday, as usual, is hosted by the folks at The Broke and the Bookish, and this week’s topic revolves around 2016 releases!

I’m not gonna lie, I’m really behind on catching up on 2016 releases. I have read a grand total of 6 books that were published this year.

Yes you read that correctly; six.

But basically I’ve just been really busy with studying this year (and also procrastinating reading because I’ve been watching stuff too). However, I have enjoyed reading all of them, so I’ll just share the books I have read so far.


Night Study by Maria V. Snyder

27834845

One of my anticipated books of the year, and I’m glad we got to find out after the cliffhanger in Shadow Study! Although this did end with another cliffhanger…

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

25494343

Probably my favourite of 2016 so far. I just love everything about Cassandra Clare books, and this was no exception. They’re always unpredictable, exciting and amazing.

Stars Above by Marissa Meyer

25689074

Although this is an anthology of novellas/short stories based off the Lunar Chronicles, I really loved this! The last story was my favourite, because who doesn’t like a happy marriage?

The Crown by Kiera Cass

26074181

Although I don’t think this is the best book ever, it was still a nice resolution to The Selection series. It was quite predictable, but still enjoyable.

The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

26252859

As always, my love for Rick Riordan books triumphs studying, so I’m glad I got around to reading this! Extra bonus points because of the usual sass and humour was still on point.

The Edge of Juniper by Lora Richardson30330916

A really enjoyable contemporary read. There were many things I enjoyed about this book, including the themes and plotlines that it included.

That’s it for today’s list! I’m disappointed in myself at how short it is – there are so many amazing books that have been released this year, and I really need to get my act together and read them all.

What’s you’re favourite release of this year so far? I’d love to know!

blog sig

 

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Enjoyable 2016 Releases

  1. I’ve been bouncing around the linky and it seems like most people had trouble with picking ten favorite books within a six month period. So, I like your style in just sharing the books you HAVE read! My co-blogger, Sierra, hasn’t read ANY 2016 books! So she couldn’t share anything! We should have done what you did and bent the parameters a little!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Stars Above! I haven’t read it yet, but I’ve finished the main TLC books. Still have Fairest left too. I hope to get to it soon! The Trials of Apollo feels so far away! I’ve finished PJO. Planning to read other books before I get into Heroes of Olympus. I’ll get to it eventually.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Fairest is really good because it’s really interesting to read from a villain’s point of view. HAHA HoO took me forever to read as I had to read them as they came out but take your time!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ll excited about that part. Haha, that reminds me that I probably shouldn’t rush in. Trials of Apollo is still ongoing. I’ll probably check out Kane Chronicles before continuing with HoO.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I have only five books on my TTT! I’ve read more than that, but I wouldn’t necessarily recommend all of them so I kept them off. I have so much shame that I haven’t read Stars Above! The Lunar Chronicles is one of my favorite series, and I just haven’t gotten around to reading the anthology yet. I agree with you about The Crown. It was predictable yet fun. Here is my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

