Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Had to Buy but Still Haven’t Read

top ten tuesday sig

Hey guys! Top Ten Tuesday is, as per usual, a weekly bookish meme that is hosted by the folks over at Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is a freebie, so I’ve decided to do books I just had to buy but still haven’t read, whether it be laziness or just not in the mood and such.

I thought about doing a more creative topic, but honestly, I’ve just been so drained from assignments in the last week – I’ve had my music composition as well as a history essay to do, so I thought I’d do something simpler for this week!


Arkanae by Lynette Noni

23569787

I bought this last year after hearing about it (and because it was also signed!) so there was no way I couldn’t not buy it. I even bought the sequel, Raelia this year because that’s how much I want to get into the series. But I still haven’t yet.

Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman

23569428

There was a lot of hype coming from this book last year, and when I saw it was available at my local Target, I needed it. I didn’t read it right away, and in some ways I think that was a mistake on my behalf because I have no idea if I’ll ever get to it now.

The Young Elites by Marie Lu

20821111

I think this has been sitting on my shelf for about a year now, and while I have heard nothing but praise, I still haven’t brought myself to read it. To be honest, I’ve totally forgotten what this book is about, but hey, it just means I’m in for a surprise, right?

also I refuse to buy the next book because it’s not the same size as my edition

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

1953

I bought this a little while after discovering that the Infernal Devices were loosely based off this classic. I read about three pages, and gave up. I still have a sticky tab in it that I’ve been using as a bookmark in case I decide I do want to read it.

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Adieh

18798983

Again, I’ve heard nothing but praise but I still haven’t read this – at this point, I’ve decided to wait for the third book to be released so I can marathon the entire trilogy in one go without having to wait.

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

17927395

I’m extremely ashamed at myself for this one – I’ve been wanting to read it, but every time I pick it up, I can’t bring myself to commit to such a lengthy book. It might be because I know I’ll just fly through it in one sitting and stay up until 5am doing so, and I don’t really want to do that.

The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

20875019

I got this because I went to a book signing that both Cassandra Clare and Holly Black were attending; obviously, I had to get one of Holly’s books to be signed or else I’d regret it. Despite the fact I haven’t read this yet, I really do like her handwriting – it’s really pretty.

Rain by Virginia Bergin

21116887

I thought the concept for this book was really interesting. Despite this, I have not read it yet. I’m not even going to try and make excuses now; it’s been sitting behind several other books on my shelf so I don’t even see it very often.

The Butterfly and the Violin by Kristy Cambron

18850688

This is a more recent purchase. I’ve been eyeing this book on Goodreads for a long while now, and when I finally did decide to purchase it, by the time it got here, I’m not really in the mood to read this. I will get to this some day, but just not in the near-future.

Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

18140047

Okay, I’ve read the first couple of pages for this one. I really do like it so far – I just put it down because I wanted to read other books (and basically haven’t come back to it yet).


So that’s a portion of my shame pile that’s currently taking up quite a bit of space in my room right now! Which one of these have/haven’t you read yet?

Also, quick life update: School holidays are next week, which means that I’ll have a bit more time to sleep in read! I’m going to try and get in as many books as possible, but things are still really heated so no gurantees. Even if I don’t read that many books, I have a few blog posts planned that I’ve been meaning to write but a) lacked motivation or b) lacked time to do so. I’ll definitely be getting around to writing those from next week onwards!

blog sig

 

 

23 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Had to Buy but Still Haven’t Read

  1. Oh goodness… I could fill one hundred posts on this topic :-D Great choice.

    I was recently asked by someone which book had been sitting in my TBR stack the longest… I think it’s a biography of the Mitford Sisters – it’s huge, when I tried to find the catalogue info (I did a TBR spreadsheet last year because the stack was so out-of-control), I discovered that the book had been republished under a new title (!) and, after possibly 15 years, I still haven’t read it. But I will :-D

    What’s the longest you’ve had a book in the TBR stack?

    Here’s my TTT – https://booksaremyfavouriteandbest.wordpress.com/2016/06/28/mixtape/

    Like

  2. I think The Wrath and the Dawn is a duology only ;) I’ve just started reading the second book, really loved the first!
    I also HAD to buy Love Letters to the Dead… and also haven’t read it yet!

    Like

    • I remember seeing on goodreads that the third book for the Wrath and the Dawn would be published next year, although that might be my poor memory! If that is the case, then I’ll have to read it very soon.

      Like

  3. Sounds like you have a lot on your plate. I hope things quiet down for you soon. It’s a great topic–and one I can relate to all too well. Haha

    I am not sure if I own a copy of The Wrath and the Dawn, but it’s one I have wanted to read for awhile now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ahh thanks! Unfortunately, things won’t settle down until the end of October, when my final exams are over! haha yea I chose this topic because it’s such a massive issue in the bookish community in general^^

      Like

Leave a Reply

