June Wrap Up | 2016

June Wrap Up

Hey guys! So June has overall been a pretty slow months – I had exams at the start of the month, which limited my reading time quite severely. Despite this however, I did manage to read a couple of books. Maybe something good does come out of exam pressure. I’ve also been really busy finishing my music composition and various other assignments in the past week, so I’m currently quite dead but school holidays are almost here, so I’ll survive.

I read a total of three books this month. I think that’s a reasonable number considering the circumstances. books I read were:

The Edge of Juniper by Lora Richardson

This was a really nice contemporary that I just enjoyed. It had it’s strong points and things it could work on but overall it was a great read.

These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

This is a historical mystery/thriller novel that’s set in Victorian New York, and I must say I was pleasantly surprised at how much I loved it!

One Paris Summer by Denise Grover Swank

This was a really cute contemporary that was set in Paris, and I really liked how the main protagonist was a pianist! Review will be coming in the next week.

I really enjoyed what I did get a chance to read. I’ve been in a contemporary mood lately, so I’ve just been reading as many as I can, but I really do miss my fantasy worlds where I can dive in and enjoy whatever is going on there.

I was also really good this month with book buying – I only acquired two new books, of which both I did not pay a single cent for. I did order another book from Book Depository that’s on its way, but won’t be here until next week.


I was sent These Shallow Graves by Allen & Unwin  – thank you so much! The Yearbook Committee was purchased through the redemption of my Dymocks Booklovers’ points. For those of you who don’t know, Dymocks is basically an Australian chain bookstore, the equivalent to Barnes & Nobles in the US and Waterstones in the UK, and they have a point system for every book you buy. One hundred points is worth a door, and you can keep collecting points or you can spend them as you go.

An article I wrote with my friend for my school magazine was just published! It’s not available on the internet; but here’s a sneak peek:


If anyone is interested in reading the whole thing, let me know, and I’ll see what I can do.

Another thing I want to talk about is the new news about Ilvermorny! I was sorted into Thunderbird, which is the adventurous house. I think it was a good match – I can be quite adventurous when I’m not bogged down with a massive workload.

Overall, June was a busy month – keeping up my ever-increasing workload from school in addition to pursuing other endeavours on the side (including blogging!). I’m pretty happy about June, but the next couple months are just going to be even crazier!

blog sig

 

Leave a Reply

