August Wrap Up | 2016

August wrap up

So August has been a busy month, both online and offline. I’ve had round 1 of exams, re-read the entire Harry Potter Series, got exams back and had various other life things. I’m happy though – I didn’t go overboard buying books, and I managed to read quite a lot considering I’ve had exams. Although I’ve been reading quite a lot, I’ve been slacking a bit on the blogging front. Sometimes, I just don’t have any ideas for blog posts, or I just never end up finishing my reviews. August has been my most inconsistent month for blogging, but I’ll try and make it up in September! No guarantees however, since I’m approaching round 2 of exams in October.


Books Read

Harry Potter 1-7 by J.K. Rowling

Like I said earlier, I marathoned the entire Harry Potter series in the first half of the month. It was a very interesting read, since I haven’t read them in a few years, so I’d forgotten some of the detail that is in the books. There were also other subtle hints and details about plot and character which I never picked up on reading when I was younger, and now that I’m older, I feel like I finally understand why some characters do certain things. Really, it makes the whole series a little more angsty, especially towards the end. Re-reading the books also made me realise how much more I enjoyed the books rather than the movie.

Caramel Hearts by E.R. Murray

I started reading this towards the end of last month, and just finished it earlier this month. It was a really cute read which made me quite inspired to bake! I’ve posted a review of it if you want to see what I thought in detail.

The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson

This was one of my anticiapated releases of the year as the final book in the Remnant Chronicles trilogy. It does have a very pretty cover, but I think that it didn’t quite live up to my expectations. I’ll have a review of this up within the next week so stay tuned.

Valley of Embers by Steven Kelliher

I’m currently in the middle of reading this, and I’m enjoying it so far! I’ve just taken forever because of all the things going on in my life right now, but as soon as I’m finished, I’ll post a review.


Books Acquired

I’m really proud of myself in this month, in that I was quite controlled when it came to book buying. I only bought two physical books, got sent one by the publishers, and also received an e-copy of another from the author. This is most definitely a good thing, because my bank account is internally crying and I ned to start thinking more about how I spend but let’s face it I’ll probably spend most of it on books and food anyway.

The Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson

This was a pre-order I finally got. I love how nice the hardcover is, and the subtle embossing on the actual cover itself is really pretty too. Although I didn’t enjoy this as much as I would’ve liked too, I still think it was a worthwhile read, especially if you’ve read the first two books in the series.

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

I’ve been eyeing this for quite a while, since I really enjoy Colleen Hoover books, so I was really surprised when they actually had this in store! Naturally I had to get this, even though I won’t be getting around to reading this for a while.

Tell Us Something True by Dana Reinhardt

I was sent this by the publisher (as a complete surprise), and while I’m too sure what this book is about, it seems like a cute contemporary read. It’s also quite short so it’ll be a good break between studying.

Valley of Embers by Steven Kelliher

This is the afore mentioned ebook that I got from the author. I’m in the midst of reading it, so I’ll mention what I think of it once I’m done.

So that’s about it for August! There quite a few exciting things happening in September, such as the Empire of Storms release, and a few other books released in August that I didn’t get around to. I’m also going to a few exciting book-related events which I’ll be recapping here, so watch out for that!

blog sig

 

2 thoughts on “August Wrap Up | 2016

  1. The Harry Potter series is worth rereading :) Rowling is a master at subtle foreshadowing, it’s hard to catch some details even after rereading a few times. I discover new things every reread.

    Like

Leave a Reply

