Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan Event!

rainbow rowell david levithan

So a few days ago (September 2nd) I had the pleasure of going to the Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan at Kinokuniya! It was a really exciting opportunity, and I almost didn’t go, but I’m glad I did because it was worth every second.

This is my third author experience (read about my experience going to the Maria V. Snyder event here), so going there, I knew generally what to expect and how these events worked. I managed to get seats in the front row, partly because I’m half blind and mostly because I had to get home early. I was really fortunate to have seats; there were so many people in the store who were just standing because it was such a popular event!

Me with Rainbow!

After I dropped off my stuff in my seat, my friend and I went to get dinner; we got udon noodles at a relatively cheap Japanese place. After we got back, it was just time to play the waiting game until the event started.

When the event started, I was really surprised, because instead of doing a general talk with a Q&A, they started doing dramatic readings from their books! That structure deviated from the usual author events I’d been to, but I thought it was an interesting way to start the night. It was really funny and engaging, and I found myself just bursting with laughter whenever there were making dramatic gestures and over-exaggerated voices. They did re-enactments from Carry On (Rainbow Rowell) and You Know Me Too Well (David Levithan, co-written with Nina LaCour); both of which I haven’t read, but the scenes they did read out were great scenes.

Reenacting a scene from Carry On!

This is the point where I have to admit that while I have read Rainbow Rowell’s books (only finished Fangirl, to be exact), I hadn’t read a single David Levithan book. I purchased a copy of Every Day on the day, and I read about eight pages before the event started. I don’t know why I was hesitant to pick up his books before, because his writing is so good! I wish I had a copy of the Lover’s Dictionary (the book I was most interested in) but I couldn’t find a copy in store and I didn’t get a chance to order one before hand.

After the dramatic readings, they did a Q&A; many questions were asked, and many were answered. Fortunately, there weren’t many spoilers which was fortunate since I need to invest more time into reading both of their books. Following the Q&A, they read out another scene from Carry On, which was equally as good as the previous scenes they’d read out, before they started signing our books!

We queued in line patiently, and it was finally our turn, I presented my stack of books to Rainbow, and I was at a complete loss of words. I don’t know why, but I blurted out that my friend and I were here as an exam break, and I mentioned my upcoming HSC exams and she wished us luck! Then it was time for David to sign my books, but I had no idea what to say so after the polite introductions, I stayed quiet. I got a picture with both of them (Rainbow grabbed the book she just signed and held it up which I thought was really cute).

Me with David!

While I was waiting for my friend to get her books signed, the girl who worked at the store complemented my shoes and we just started chatting! Too soon however, my friend was done, and we had to leave.

On the way out, the security guard at the door checked that our purchased books had been stamped. All was fine, but since I’d bought two of my books previously at Dymocks a long time ago, I felt like a traitor to Kinokuniya somehow; don’t ask.

So overall, I think it was a successful night! There was lots of laughter, good vibes and entertainment that resulted in the avoidance of responsibilities and just procrastination. It was definitely worth every minute, and I’m so grateful that I even got to go, considering how many people were there that night!

blog sig

 

4 thoughts on “Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan Event!

  1. Pingback: Review: Every Day by David Levithan | Kaleidoscope of Books

  2. Pingback: September Wrap Up | Kaleidoscope of Books

Leave a Reply

