Review: Beauty of Darkness by Mary E. Pearson

the beauty of darkness

Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Release Date: August 2, 2016
Format Read: Hardback
ISBN: 9780805099256
Pages: 679
Read in: August 2016
Goodreads | Book Depository | Booktopia

While this is review does not contain spoilers for this book, there may be spoilers for the previous two books in the series (Kiss of Deception and Heart of Betrayal). If you haven’t read those yes, I highly recommend you do that first and then come back and read this.

The Beauty of Darkness
Goodreads Summary:

Lia has survived Venda—but so has a great evil bent on the destruction of Morrighan. And only Lia can stop it.

With war on the horizon, Lia has no choice but to assume her role as First Daughter, as soldier—as leader. While she struggles to reach Morrighan and warn them, she finds herself at cross-purposes with Rafe and suspicious of Kaden, who has hunted her down.

In this conclusion to the Remnant Chronicles trilogy, traitors must be rooted out, sacrifices must be made, and impossible odds must be overcome as the future of every kingdom hangs in the balance.


I was slightly let down for this book. This was one of my highly anticipated reads of the year, and being the last book in the trilogy, I thought there could be more. I pretty happy with the way things ended – however I think that there are some things that could’ve been explored or developed more. In saying that, I still enjoyed it – it’s just some minor details that all detracted from the overall story.

I think the plot as a whole was fine, but there were so many hints dropped throughout the book that made future events so predictable. It didn’t have the same suspense as the first or second book in this series. It fell completely flat, especially towards the end. Some of the chapters also ended in weird places, but that might’ve been me reading at 1am because the other people I’ve discussed this with didn’t have the same issue.

While the pacing of the first half of book was decent, there were just parts where it seemed to drag on forever and not go anywhere. I thought the build up to the final climax was also extremely slow, and I kept checking the pages to see how many I had left. When I actually got the climax, it was over so quickly, it felt rather disappointing and not what I was expecting after what happened.

Firstly, I’d like to point out that I really liked Kaden and his character in the first book, but it felt as though he was just sidelined in this last book. He was such an interesting character, with such an interesting backstory, but I just think he was completely sidelined and labelled as ‘comrade’ to Lia. While I did want Kaden to end up with Lia, I’m not upset because that happened. I’m upset because Kaden was just pushed to the side. His relationship with Pauline was also very sudden. It just got to the point where he was pretty much a side character, instead of one of the main characters who was pushing the story forward.

I was pleased with Lia and Pauline – both girls grow to be such independent, strong characters, and there’s so much growth for them. They’re inspiring characters, but I think it might have been slightly overdone. I still really enjoyed reading about their no-nonsense attitude towards most things, and taking opportunities for themselves.

I really do adore this series, and while I wasn’t fully satisfied by this book, it was still enjoyable. I still think this series as a whole is a worthwhile read, especially the first two books.

Rating: ★★★.5

blog sig

 

Leave a Reply

