September Wrap Up | 2016

september-wrap-up

September for me, was the start of spring and so I finally got to say goodbye to winter for another year! It has also been a pretty big month for reading. While I didn’t have exams, I probably read more than I should’ve and procrastinated studying, but hey, reading is a good thing. I managed to get through about 8 books this month, which is the most I’ve read in a single month for a long time.


Books Read

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

I actually read this at the end of August, but I wasn’t allowed to mention it as it wasn’t out at the time. It was so hard keeping all the details all to myself with no one to discuss it with, but I lent it to a friend who read it in about two days and we got to discuss it in depth (and mope) over it. In short, it was fantastic, and I really want book 6 now.

Every Day by David Levithan

I thought I would give this a go, seeing as I went to the David Levithan and Rainbow Rowell event, I enjoyed this way more than I thought I would have, and it made me want to pick up some of his other books. I really like his writing style, which was definitely what made me like this book as much as I did.

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

I had about a two week dry reading spell before I read this book. I finally got around to reading this, which is the third Colleen Hoover book I’ve read and own, and this along with Ugly Love are probably my favourite books of hers. It was very interesting, because there were some very interesting characters. A review of this book will be up soon I promise.

Maybe Not by Colleen Hoover (novella)

This is the companion novella to Maybe Someday and it’s written from Warren’s perspective, and his story from a few weeks before Sydney moves into their apartment. If you’ve read Maybe Someday, this is a really nice companion which complements the main novel really well.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

I picked this up on a whim, partially because I wanted a contemporary, but also because I wanted to read something else that she’d written. I really enjoyed this – it was short and sweet, and straight to the point as it’s set over the course of one day.

P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

I saw my friend was reading this on my goodreads, so I decided to start reading it too, just so I had someone to discuss this book with immediately after reading. I think it’s suffice to say that I really enjoyed reading Kasie West as I decided to read more of her books.

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

The said book I just mentioned above. I thought this was good, but I thought the ending was a bit abrupt. I really liked the concept behind the story and character idea, even if I didn’t enjoy the ending that much. In saying that, I still really enjoyed this book as a whole, but I thought it lacked something that her other books had.

Paper Princess by Erin Watt

I picked this up because I’ve wanted to read this for a couple of months now, and it was so worth it. It was excitingand thrilling, something that I was not expecting, and I would highly, highly recommend reading.

Broken Prince by Erin Watt

I had to immediately follow up the sequel to Paper Princess as it ended on a cliffhanger and I just needed to know what happened next. The sad thing is that this book also ended on a pretty dramatic cliffhanger, and now I have to wait until next month before I can read it.


Although I read quite a lot of books, I managed to restrain myself pretty well when it came to book buying. I only got four books this month which is pretty good.

Books of the month + my high school graduation ram

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas (x2)

Yes, I got this in both the paperback and hardback because I love this series that much. I received the paperback early from Bloomsbury, and I bought the hardback myself. I had to get both just because I started collecting the entire series in hardback, so I need to complete my collection.

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

I’ve been eyeing this book for a very long time now ever since the cover came out, and I spent the longest time deliberating between getting the paperback or hardcover. In the end, I opted for the paperback as it was much cheaper than the hardcover (and I’m also pretty broke). I’m excited to get to this soon, but I want to re-read Ember in the Ashes before reading this just to refresh my memory.

Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers

This is also another book I’ve been eyeing for quite a while now, so when I saw it for really cheap, I had to get it. It’s a debut novel I’ve been eyeing I think since last year, and I’m pretty keen to read it.


Early this month,  I was fortunate enough to attend the Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan event in Sydney! I went with my friend, and we were extremely lucky to have seats – there was a massive turnout which I was surprised by. I had a blast that evening as both Rainbow and David are hilarious. It was a night of udon noodles, dramatic readings and lots of answers to the questions asked. Of course, an author even wouldn’t be complete without a signing and yes, I got books signed by both of them! If you want to see the full event recap where I talked about it in detail, check it out here.

Me with Rainbow!

Me with Rainbow!


September has been a busy but productive month, and I finally got back into the swing of things. I started posting twice a week again, doing the Top Ten Tuesdays (when I felt like it). October will be a busy month for me offline, so I’m not sure that I’ll keep this busy schedule up, but I will try my best!

October is also the month where there are many exciting releases! Highlights include Rick Riordan, and some various other books that I can’t name off the top of my head. I’ll hopefully get around to reading that, so stay tuned! There are also a backlog of reviews from all the books I read this month that are yet to be posted, so look forward to that too.

How has your September been? Let me know in the comments!

blog sig

 

4 thoughts on “September Wrap Up | 2016

  1. You had a great month, Katrina! Maybe Someday and Ugly Love are my favorite Colleen Hoover books as well, which is weird because they’re so different! I’m really hesitant to read another Kasie West book since reading The Fill in Boyfriend, which I didn’t like at all. I’ve never read anything by David Leviathan! I’ve heard great things about him, but I haven’t gotten around to anything he’s written! I’m glad you met him and Rainbow Rowell! The event seemed like a blast! :D

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! If you’re going to read another Kasie West, I would recommend reading PS I Like You since I think it’s the better of the two. I hadn’t read any David Levithan before, and now that I have I’m wondering why I didn’t read his books earlier! If you get a chance definitely check out his books. And yes it was a blast :D

      Like

  2. Wow, I’m jealous you get to meet Rainbow Rowell! Haha. Sounds like September was good for you. I only managed four books this month. And I definitely agree that Throne of Glass Book 6 needs to be out yesterday.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

