Review: Paper Princess by Erin Watt

paper-princess

Publisher: Everafter Romance
Release Date: April 4, 2016
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781682304563
Pages: 370
Read in: September 2016
Goodreads | Book Depository | Booktopia

Goodreads Summary:

From strip clubs and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.

These Royals will ruin you…

Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone. 

Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.

Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals.

He might be right.

Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees.


Whatever I was expecting, I was not expecting what I read from this book.

I don’t remember how I discovered this book (probably goodreads), but this was so good. I loved pretty much anything about it – it was exciting, it turns you on, and it will keep you reading throughout the night. I literally didn’t take any notes for this review because I was just so absorbed in reading and taking everything in. It’s a new adult book, something I didn’t realise as I was going into this book, but loved it nevertheless. I will just say right now, there’s quite a bit of explicit content, so if you’re not up for that then don’t read this.

28678119

The cover is just so pretty

It starts of interesting enough – Ella is surviving on her own, doing her own thing until a guy, Callum Royal sweeps in and declares himself her guardian. Although she tries to run, he doesn’t let her and she ends up in a house full of Royals (They’re not actually royalty, but they’re hella rich). The story from then on is a weird mixture of romance, action, bitching and upper class privileged life that somehow just works.

The tagline for this book is ‘These Royals will ruin you‘ and I actually agree with this. I got so ruined by this book (although honestly, not as much as after Empire of Storms). For starters, the plot was actually amazing. Although it’s not an exciting fantasy adventure, the book is still full of twists and turns all throughout the book. I thought this book would be a little like The Selection series by Kiera Cass, but it’s not. If anything, it’s better. There’s so much that goes down in the space of about 50 pages, and every event just leaves you open mouthed. Some things were quite predictable but for the most part, I really enjoyed the plot.

Characters. For me, the characters were what really made the book so good. Firstly, I’m going to clarify that the book revolves the Royal family, not a royal family. To Ella, the boys are all intimidating at first, especially Reed, who appears to be the one everyone looks to. But she’s not so bad; she’s very resourceful, intelligent and can also stand up for herself. I love how fierce and fiesty she is, and how unafraid she is to make sure she does the right thing. She’s also really sarcastic and witty, and her humourous lines make me either scoff or laugh every time. She’s had a troubled past, but that’s what shapes her experiences and perceptions of the world.

The Royal boys are very intimidating at first. They’re not people who you would want to cross, and that’s exactly why they’re perceived as rulers of the school. I actually didn’t really like any of these guys at first, but as the book progresses and you get to know them, they’re not so bad. My personal favourite is Easton – he’s sleeps around a lot and is a jerk, but he’s actually the most welcoming out of all of the boys. He’s pretty sweet if you don’t cross the wrong side of him.

Another thing that’s also relevant; the covers are just so damn pretty. I love how they aesthetic they are and how they’d look on my shelf. I only just ordered my copy after reading the ebook version, and I’m so damn excited to get my hands on it and just admire it. It’s so simple, yet so pretty and somehow it works.

So yes, I highly recommend this book! It was really interesting and engaging (if you don’t mind explicit content), and I think that it is a book that everyone should read if they can get their hands on it. Especially since the cover is so damn pretty.

Rating: ★★★★.5

3 thoughts on “Review: Paper Princess by Erin Watt

  1. Pingback: September Wrap Up | Kaleidoscope of Books

  2. Pingback: Review: Twisted Palace by Erin Watt | Kaleidoscope of Books

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Reads of 2016 | Kaleidoscope of Books

Leave a Reply

