October Wrap Up | 2016

october-wrap-up

Hey guys! So October has been quite the month, especially in my life. I finished my last set of high school exams, which means that I am totally free to do what I want with the rest of my life. As daunting as it sounds, I still have uni to consider, so there’s that too.

My blogging schedule has been messy lately, partly due to exams and as a result, I have a backlog of blog posts I have written but still yet to publish. I’ll try and get them all published within the next month, just so I’m not falling behind and releasing a review of a book I read in October in January or something.


Books Read

I still managed to get a few books in this month, and I’m pretty happy with what I read, considering the circumstances. I’m also pretty happy about my choice of books because for the most part, they were all very enjoyable and a great distraction to my studies.

Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher

24378015

Never Never is split into three parts, each section about the length of a novella. Maybe it was the fact it was written in three parts, but while the first part was really good and left me hanging, I found the second and third parts underwhelming compared to the first story. 

Twisted Palace by Erin Watt

29519517

The third and final book in the Paper Princess trilogy. To be honest, I was a bit underwhelmed with this book, as it wasn’t as enjoyable as the first two books were. Maybe if I had read them all back to back my opinion might be different, but hey, can’t get everything you want in life ever.

Rock by Anyta Sunday

23153351

This is something I totally read on a whim, and it was actually much better than I expected it to be. I didn’t actually have any expectations for this book, but I was pleasantly surprised how good the writing and the story was.

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

17927395

finally convinced myself to go and read this, and honestly, it was just sensational. I loved every second of this book because just like any other SJM book, it was exciting and captivating. Reading ACOMAF has been something I’ve been meaning to do for half a year now, and I’m just glad I’ve read it now so I can go on tumblr and explore in peace without the fear of being spoiled for ACOMAF. Reading this book has also made me miss her writings and universe in general, and I want to go back and read ACOTAR sometime in the future just to pick up on all the things I didn’t pick up before.

Valley of Embers by Steven Kelliher

31296952

Technically, I’ve been reading this since August (and finished it on Nov 1 shh), but I thought I’d post about it now just because of the sheer amount of time it took to read. I wasn’t really in the mood for a while and I finally finished it. It feels good to have a book I’ve been reading for so long just finished (my review is coming so watch out for that!).


Book Haul


This month I also bought a fair amount of books – I ended up getting seven books, which isn’t spectacular. I suspect November will be a very big month for book buying since I will be going to a few fairs/sales/secondhand-bookshop exploring.

Throne of Glass Colouring Book

I’ll admit I’m not sure if I’ll ever get around to colouring this in, but I got it because I really liked the artwork that was in it. Also, it was cheap and I couldn’t say no.

Something In Between by Melissa De La Cruz

This book caught my interest because of the cover, but I read the first chapter when I was in the bookstore and was immediately hooked. I love the writing, and the plot seems really promising, so I can’t wait until I get into this book.

Paper Princess Trilogy by Erin Watt


I bought the entire trilogy in one go, so while my bank account is crying, I now own this very pretty trilogy that looks wonderful on my shelf. Oh, and I suppose it’s an okay read too.

The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

I am still yet to read a Patrick Ness book, and I figured this would be a really good place to start. I’ve heard nothing short of praise for his books, so I’m interested to see why people enjoy his books so much.

The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

I’ve admired Huntley Fitzpatrick’s books from afar, mostly because I love the pastel spines and also because I’ve heard nothing but good things about her books. I wanted to get My Life Next Door, but they didn’t actually have that in the store I went to, so I opted for this instead. Keen to see what everyone has been raving about.


So that’s all for October! It’s been a busy month, but ultimately it was worth it since now I’m done with the schooling system (and the proud owner of more books).

How was your october?

blog sig

Leave a Reply

