Top Ten Tuesday: Musical Movies

resized

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme that is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Today’s topic is based on anything movies, so since I don’t really watch movies that often, I thought I’d extend it (slightly) and talk about musical theatre shows that have been turned into movies that I have really enjoyed.


Les Miserables (2012)

Ah yes. The one musical that most people butcher when they try to pronounce it. In all seriousness, this is definitely one of the most talked about musicals, and there’s a very good reason for it. It has so many themes that I won’t even get started on that are so relevant, and the music is honestly so amazing. It took me four years to convince one of my friends to watch it, but in the end it was so worth it because she is now addicted to the musical. My personal favourite songs from Les Mis are “Empty Chairs at Empty Tables” and “On My Own”.

Fame (2009)

In contrast to Les Mis, Fame is an interesting musical. It follows the struggles of several different students who are all students at the NYC High School of Performing Arts where the school basically teaches them the skills to survive in the show industry. Although it’s not amazing, I think it’s a solid musical movie (even if this version is a remake) that would make great light entertainment.

Dreamgirls (2006)

I actually watched this movie in history class, and I wasn’t expecting it to be a musical movie. It’s a pretty accurate portrayal how difficult it was for black Americans to live in the show industry back in the 1960s. If that’s not enough reason to watch it, Beyonce herself was actually in this movie, a fact I didn’t know until after I’d watched it.

Grease (1978)

Grease is an absolute classic that everyone should watch. To be honest, while the acting is amazing, I really enjoyed the music more than anything – most of it is really upbeat and fun. The best way I can describe it is a chick flick with great music, but it’s worth watching merely for the music itself.

The Sound of Music (1965)

I believe this is the first musical movie I watched, and when I first watched it I never fully understood the context it was set in (WWII Austria). However, what I did understand was that the music was very memorable, and if songs like “Do-Re-Mi” and “So Long, Farewell” don’t ring a bell, you definitely have to watch this.

Rent (2005)

“Five hundred twenty-five thousand, six hundred minutes” is how this movie starts. I wasn’t sure what to expect from watching this musical, but it was so deep and really talked about issues that just hit home. The film basically follows the lives of several Bohemians living in NYC who are all struggling with their own personal issues during a time where AIDS was a serious issue. This is an adaptation of the theatre show, and actually has most of the original cast (including Idina Menzel).

Phantom of the Opera (2004)

Quite a recent watch of mine, but I absolutely adored this musical. It’s kind of creepy, but I guess this is the extent of creepy I enjoy reading or watching about. It’s about this Phantom who is cast aside by society and lives underneath the Paris Opera House, and his love for the opera singer Christine. It’s a very mature musical, but I love the music and plot of the whole thing.

Love Never Dies (2012)

This is stretching the topic a bit, since this version is technically a recording of the stage production. Nevertheless, if Phantom of the Opera was great, Love Never Dies actually slayed. I was in tears by the end because of how beautiful the storyline was, and how amazing the music was. I think the story and setting in this book was better than Phantom, but I personally enjoyed the music from Phantom more. I’m pretty sure this musical has one several awards, and I can confirm it is worthy of all the praise. However, only watch this after you’ve watched Phantom, otherwise it won’t make any sense.

Hairspray (2007)

Hairspray is one of the musicals I’ve known longest about. It’s fun and upbeat, yet it somehow simultaneously deals with such serious issues, spreading awareness of the 1960s American history. I actually prefer this movie version based off the musical (it doesn’t have anything to do with the fact Zac Efron is in it) over the older version that was made in 1988.

Oliver Twist (2005)

Based off of Charles Dickens’ novel Oliver Twist, this musical film adaptation of the book in my opinion great edutainment. It’s about an orphan named Oliver Twist who gets kicked out of an orphanage because he asked for more food. The music in this movie is very memorable in my opinion, the most memorable being ‘Consider Yourself’.


So that’s it for today! I hope this inspired you to go check out at least some of these musicals which I think all deserve praise and more attention.

What are some musical movies that you’ve watched and enjoyed? I’d love to know in the comments!

blog sig

 

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Musical Movies

  1. Loving seeing Les Mis on this list. I fell in love with the musical through the movie. It is also my favorite movie. I love how this tragic musical is truly a story about love, compassion, forgiveness, sacrifice, hope, humanity and redemption. I still cannot decide what my favorite song is or who is my favorite character?

    I believe the plot is extremely passionate, inspirational, hopeful and powerful. The songs are brilliant which wonderfully reflect the characters and storyline. The characters are so complex and memorable.

    Have you ever seen the stage show?

    Like

  2. Les Mis had my mom and I in tears within 10 minutes. Breathtakingly beautiful. I cry every time I watch Rent, too – it’s so wonderful and breaks my heart but also fills me with so much love. I’m also a big fan of some of the wilder musicals, like Rocky Horror Picture Show and Moulin Rouge! Seriously great list for this week :)

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

