Review: Valley of Embers by Steven Kelliher

valley-of-embers

Release Date: August 16, 2016
Format: ebook
ISBN: 9781535244350
Pages: 437
Read in: Aug – Oct, 2016

Goodreads |  Amazon

Goodreads Sumary:

For hundreds of years, the flame-wielding Embers have been the last line of defense against the nightmare creatures from the World Apart, but the attacks are getting worse. Kole Reyna guards Last Lake from the terrors of the night, but he fears for his people’s future.

When Kole is wounded by a demon unlike any they have seen before, the Emberfolk believe it is a sign of an ancient enemy returned, a powerful Sage known as the Eastern Dark.

Kole has never trusted in prophecy, but with his people hanging on the precipice, he reluctantly agrees to lead the Valley’s greatest warriors in a last desperate bid for survival. Together, they will risk everything in search of a former ally long-thought dead, and whether Kole trusts him or not, he may be the only one capable of saving them.


31296952

Disclaimer: I received a free ecopy from the author for review purposes. In no way has this affected my thoughts and opinions below. 

This was a really well-written story that was set in a very interesting world. I enjoyed reading it (despite the fact it took me three months), but it didn’t hold my interest long enough for me to finish it in one go.

The plot, especially in the first half of the book felt really slow and dragged on forever. This is probably because there was a lot more worldbuilding that occurred in the first half that didn’t really do much to hold my attention. Although I really liked the world, and the idea of Embers being the protectors of the valley, I think the worldbuilding was just too clumped together in the beginning of the story, resulting in a plot that just dragged on. The second half  was definitely much more interesting than the first, with a lot more going on. There was much more action and excitement, and the pace of the book was considerably better. The changing perspectives between many plotlines were quite sudden, and resulted in quite a bit of confusion for me.

The characters honestly didn’t make much of an impression on me. Sure, there were some characters that were quite interesting, like the main character Kole, but to be honest, after I finished reading I found that I didn’t really care for many of the characters at all. There were too many side characters at the start making it difficult to keep track of, but after a while they were whittled down and it did make it easier to keep track of them all.

For me, while this was a well-written story that had an interesting world, there was something lacking in the writing of the plot and characters which I found it difficult to connect with, and thus follow the continuity of the story. While I did enjoy reading this book, I found that the plot and the characters were just not for me. However, I think that if you’re a fan of high fantasy with more mature characters, you should definitely check this out.

Rating: ★★★.5

One thought on “Review: Valley of Embers by Steven Kelliher

  1. Pingback: November Wrap Up | 2016 | Kaleidoscope of Books

Leave a Reply

