Review: A Court of Mist of Fury by Sarah J. Maas

acomaf

While this review does not contain spoilers for this book, it does contain spoilers for ACOTAR, the first book in this series. If you haven’t read ACOTAR yet, I highly suggest you read that first, then come back to this review.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children
Release Date: May 3, 2016
Format: Paperback
ISBN: 9781408857885
Pages: 624
Read in: October 2016
Goodreads | Book Depository | Booktopia

Goodreads Summary:

Feyre is immortal.

After rescuing her lover Tamlin from a wicked Faerie Queen, she returns to the Spring Court possessing the powers of the High Fae. But Feyre cannot forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people – nor the bargain she made with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court.

As Feyre is drawn ever deeper into Rhysand’s dark web of politics and passion, war is looming and an evil far greater than any queen threatens to destroy everything Feyre has fought for. She must confront her past, embrace her gifts and decide her fate.

She must surrender her heart to heal a world torn in two.


Image result for a court of mist and fury

I really enjoyed ACOMAF. It was thrilling and had me on edge after every page turn, despite the slow beginning. The characters and character development was great and the pl0t development and worldbuilding were both fantastic, a step up from everything that happened in ACOTAR.

As I mentioned, I thought the beginning was quite slow. It took me several attempts to finally get settled into reading this book, just because there wasn’t much going on and it was just dragging on for seemingly forever. It was only about fifty pages in that things started picking up and began to really get exciting. After this point, the plot became more intricate and interesting and made me want to read on. The writing was brilliant as usual, and kept me reading through the night (two nights, actually), not stopping until the very end.

The worldbuilding was perhaps my favourite aspect of ACOMAF. Maas expanded the world significantly in this book, and it was brilliant. I love every aspect of it, especially the antithetical Court of Nightmares and Court of Dreams, and the establishment of Velaris as a wonderous, fantastical city.

The Court of Dreams.
The people who knew that there was a price, and one worth paying, for that dream. The bastard- born warriors, the Illyrian half breed, the monster trapped in a beautiful body, the dreamer born into a court of nightmares…And the huntress with an artist’s soul.

I really like how they expanded the world to include the details about the Illyrian culture, and how that thrived amongst the people of the Night Court. An entire culture was created that I was very intrigued by and the explanations and subtle details is really what made the worldbuilding so brilliant.

Character development is also another integral element as to why I really enjoyed this book. There’s the return of old faces and the introduction of many new ones, many of whom I love. This book is mostly focused on Feyre and her personal growth, which was quite exponential. We see her go from someone who is suffering from PTSD after the traumatic events of Under the Mountain, to someone who is fully capable of holding her own and willing to sacrifice herself for her friends and what she believes in. She also retains the sass that is quite typical of Maas’ characters, something that I can fully appreciate and enjoy. The rest of the main character development is centred around her relationship with Rhys. Even though I didn’t really like Rhys that much in the first book, I really came to appreciate then like him as a character, especially in the second half of this book. Although I enjoyed how the character development was centred around their romantic relationship, I’m not sure that it was the best course of action. Nevertheless, I still really liked their romantic relationship.

“To the people who look at the stars and wish, Rhys.”
Rhys clinked his glass against mine. “To the stars who listen— and the dreams that are answered.”

However, there was one thing that really irked me, and that was how Tamlin’s character was completely changed. I actually really liked Tamlin in ACOTAR, and so I was really disappointed with how his character was just completely flipped. I hardly recognised him, and Lucien too. I also didn’t like how Lucien was just sidelined and depicted as a completely submissive person, as he had his own strenghts which were completely disregarded in ACOMAF. I’m really hoping that in book three that this might change for the better, considering the events of the climax, but I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

Overall, I thought it was a solid sequel to ACOTAR, despite not liking every aspect of this book. However, I’m really keen to see how this series will go and how the series will conclude. If you read ACOTAR, I recommend that you should read this, as it is a great continuation of the events of ACOTAR.

Rating: ★★★★.5

blog sig

 

 

4 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Mist of Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  1. So much love for this book! I loved the battle that Feyre was going through from page one, not being quite happy with where she was. It was definitely a very different spin to book one, and I was shocked by the changes to Tamlin’s character. Truth be told, I didn’t bat an eyelid over it though. I thought it was clever of Maas’ behalf and entirely believable. I literally cannot wait to see where she takes the story from here because omg it’s going to get crazy, I just know it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Top Reads of 2016 | Kaleidoscope of Books

Leave a Reply

